Motorcycling GPS Apps - A Comparison

Thread Starter #1
Hello Everyone, this is Sibi from Chennai and I ride a Yamaha R15 V2, long distance touring, mostly. I have been riding for the past five years and have witnessed a huge transformation in the Indian biking scenario. The rise in the number of bikers with the passage of time is considerable and can’t be denied by enthusiasts or experts. Simultaneously, numerous biking clubs have also been formed. It isn’t uncommon to come across cause-driven biking events and rides as well.

I would always miss out on clicking pictures during my travel as I didn't have a GoPro back then. All I would be left with, was memories about the ride in my head. It was during moments like these that I felt the need for some sort of GPS logger to keep a track of my rides. Hence, I began using a bunch of apps for the same purpose. The said apps and their reviews have been listed below:

1. GPS Speed HD -

iOS Only - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/gpss...432156279?mt=8

I used this app on my iPad and it worked flawlessly. I could track my rides and get useful information and various statistics as listed below ( Stated on the App's Site )

* Speedometer with speed profile
* Altimeter with height profile history
* Logs in sleep-mode if the application is running
* Logs in background if supported by iOS
* In statistics, the recorded profiles are available for analysis
* Display the recorded tracks on the map
* Display the current track on the map
* These routes can be sent as an email in the formats KML, GPX and CSV with including histogram
* Show average speed and track distance
* Display of ascent and descent
* G-Meter

The only issue that I faced with this app was that all my logged rides were lost when I updated from iOS 7 to 8, and again, from 8 to 9. As a result, I currently don’t have any screenshots to upload. There was no backup feature back then, not even now, and hence, I started looking for alternatives.

2. EatSleepRide -