DIY Help : Changing Silver Rims to Black w/o Spray Paint!

Thread Starter #1

lxi.

Suspended
Hi guys, I have a Maruti Suzuki Alto LXi in Silky Silver Colour.
I was just planning to upgrade the stock rims to Alloys but since the price is too much (10-12k) for Alloy Wheels and the resale won't fetch much even with alloys. So, Decided to save money by going with WHEEL COVERS (Full size, No hub caps) instead of Alloy Wheels.I already have Hubcaps (Simple small ones with "S" mark. I found a Wheel Cover design similar to that of Alloy and looks similar to alloy to the casual observer. The money saved atleast 9k will be used on ICE (Amplifier- 4ch and 12" sub)[;)]

Since the stock rims (Silver) could be seen even after putting wheel covers. I decided to paint my rims black. I am not a DIY expert, so don't wanna waste money on this DIY.

I have a Bottle (Container) of Paint getting WASTE. It is of some High Glossy Finish (Its an Automotive Paint for Cars) and in Black colour[thumbsup].

But the problem is that it is not SPRAY TYPE, It is just the type of paint we get at paint shops. So, CAN I USE IT TO PAINT THE WHEELS? IF SO, WHAT THING SHOULD I USE TO DO SO? PLEASE HELP GUYS![confused]

But the problem is that it is not SPRAY TYPE, It is just the type of paint we get at paint shops. So, CAN I USE IT TO PAINT THE WHEELS? IF SO, WHAT THING SHOULD I USE TO DO SO? PLEASE HELP GUYS![confused]
You can do it with brush, but make sure you sand the surface before applying the coat. Since the surface would be hidden under the wheel caps, even if the coat is non-uniform, it wont alter the appearance.

Thread Starter #3

lxi.

Suspended
But my stock rims are almost as new! No scratch, Bents!

Do you know what will be the cost of getting it done with a Local Paintshop.

I am thinking of first getting the Wheel Covers and then do it at home!

Cheers!

I just want to make a thread in the DIY section of my first DIY!