Please Help in Buying a Used Car

I want to buy a used car under 1 lakh. I am in Gurgaon. I have had online search. There are many available under 1 lakh. I do not want maruti 800. Any other option? What about fiat palio?

Welcome to TAI !!

Your enquiry is bit unclear, so please elaborate a bit on your requirements and what have concluded on[:)]

I am planning to buy a used car under 1 Lakh. I do not want to buy Maruti 800. Is there any other option?

Cars available under 1 lakh, good condition, average mileage since I may not be drive so often. So mileage doesnt matter. Only look, condition matters.

Hi meteaindia,

Go for Maruti old ZEN but try to search only for MPFI. Model 2001/2000 but check the condition. If the condition is good you will get in max 70K. good thing is you will get 1000cc engine + good mileage.

Adi[:)]

Welcome to TAI,

If budget is strictly one lakh (buying +transfer of ownership + simple repairs) the options would be

1. Carburator Zen 60K - 70K will be buying cost, spend some 15K on basic servicing & replacing some worn out parts like drive shaft/ gear lever bush/brakes overhaul etc as needed.

2. Esteem - great car, parts availability will be an issue as some parts are already not available at MGP too.

3. MPFi Zen costs more than 1Lac (no matter what condition it is) here in Bangalore so I doubt if it will fit in your budget.

4. Fiat Palio - One of the best Hatchback cars to drive, but not every mechanic knows to service it. Very well built, no rattles, good road grip, smooth engine - I am sure you will get many offers below 1lac for this car.

5. Matiz: Parts are difficult to source, although spacious design isnt attractive (my opinion)

Carb Zen would be my choice.

All the best.

Thanks Adi.

Thanks ss80,

Could you please tell me what Carburator Zen is ? Which variant of Zen has it?

Fiat palio is the one I look for. Could you please give me an idea on which model I can get? there are many variants available. And which year, how much kilometer done etc?

Now, Fiat palio is no more produced, what about parts availability. I believe TATA was looking after service. So, any tata service center would be better for service.

Please advice

+1 to SS80, My thoughts also suggest the same. Go for a zen driven between 50000km to 70000km a well maintained one will give you looks on the road even today and MASS clear support

Hi meteaindia,

Zen came in 4 models

1. Classic - doesnt look good, lets not talk about it [:)]
zen.jpg

2. Carbon - 2 door version of Zen, limited edition I believe - Crazy resale value (north side of two lakhs)
Carbon1_1299421445.jpg

3. Zen Carburator (This model along with the above two came with Carburator engine)
1334406885_353493742_1-Pictures-of--Maruti-Zen-1995-Model.jpg

4. Zen Mpfi - this came with MPFi engine - costly to buy, preferred for daily usage, not so cheap on maintenance.
1336459893_371539351_4-MARUTHI-ZEN-2005-LXI-TOP-CONDITION-TOP-MAINTANANCE-Vehicles.jpg

5. Zen Estilo - This will go Off topic if I put anyting about this car.

I am suggesting you to go ahead with the 3rd option mentioned above.
Here is something you might be interested in, I searched in some websites & here are some cars for sale in Gurgaon.

Zen Carburator cars for sale ads in Olx.in
zen 1997 model renewed for next 5 year in just @ 60000 - Gurgaon - Cars

Zen Mpfi model for sale.
Zen with CNG - Gurgaon - Cars - Udyog Vihar

Hope this helps in your Zen hunt.

Fiat Palio isnt a easy to maintain car (atleast as far as I know), one of my friend has a car & some quick points about Palio:

+ves
1. Refined engine (may be better than some new cars in production today)
2. Tough body, huge space, good suspension, Stylish OEM alloys
3. Available in 1.2 Petrol, 1.6Petrol (not sure abuot this one though) & ofcourse the giant 1.9D!
4. Last model of Palio lauched was called - Style (or Stile) it came with alloys, rear wiper & all usual features.

-ves
1. Parts may be difficult to source after a few years, for now you should be able to manage without much issues
2. Tata Service centers may not be the best place to service your Palio
3. STrange facts - Rear wiper blade cant be changed, whole wiper arm needs to changed! Costing 780/- (However I did a jugaad for my friends car)
4. Its lacks the mileage factor, double digit mileage is difficult in this car (thanks to that superb engine which turns almost everyone into Micheal Schumacher)

Palio - Drivers car (strictly for enthusiasts) - Pleasure guaranteed
Zen - Daily use + mod friendly car + surprising package considering its price

OT: Dear Mods, I am no where connected to that website or people selling those cars. Just sharing what I found. Pictures are from google search

Thanks Adi.

Thanks ss80,

Could you please tell me what Carburator Zen is ? Which variant of Zen has it?

Fiat palio is the one I look for. Could you please give me an idea on which model I can get? there are many variants available. And which year, how much kilometer done etc?

Now, Fiat palio is no more produced, what about parts availability. I believe TATA was looking after service. So, any tata service center would be better for service.

Please advice

You will get MPFI one below 1L in Delhi/GGN easily. The old carburater car manufactured till 1999, Year 2000 onwards (norms condition), 2001, 2002. The ZEN is in old shape but with MPFI (increased average + pick up). [clap]

from 2003 onwards u will get new model of zen having the same engine. It will cost you around 1L to 1.3L depending on the ownership.

Just FYI....I have sold my ZEN MPFI (1st owner) 2001, one month back for Rs 70000 only.

Dont go for Fiat Palio, because it will hard find 1st of all and average of this car is very low. you will face parts problem after 2-3 years.

I am totally satisfy with the ZEN performance. done 2-3 trips long way (1500KM up & down). This car never let me down in any situation.

Adi

I want to buy a used car under 1 lakh. I am in Gurgaon. I have had online search. There are many available under 1 lakh. I do not want maruti 800. Any other option? What about fiat palio?
You can get an almost new Nano in second hand car market in one lakh budget. It will be well under the original warranty and not demand for an overhaul either. If not, then look out for a maintained Maruti Suzuki Zen MPFI. Fiat Palio is a good option too but the overall running costs and availability of spare parts is questionable. Plus, the resale value of third hand model will be nothing after a while.

Thank you ss80, akapoor, 350z

What about Santro old models. I have found something under 1 lakh when I searched. Which model and how much kilometer done would be ideal?

It all depends on the condition and age of the car. Personally I consider anything around 50,000 Kms a safe choice for a decade old model.

vbreader

I would take the palio, since I know a good mechanic who only deals with fiat cars.

If you find that you can service palio in your local area, Palio wins on every car specified above.