Skoda Octavia vs Toyota Corolla Altis vs Jeep Compass

Thread Starter #1
Hi,

I'm looking to buy a car in the 15-20 lac range and my options are dwindling between Octavia, Jeep Compass and Corolla Altis. I do know that while there are two sedans and one SUV, I'm really okay with anything provided they meet my requirement which is mainly:
1. After sales maintenance / service costs
2. Drive quality after 4-5 years as I intend to keep it for a long term.

Current:
My daily driving routine is just around 2-5 kms from home-work-home and I've been driving the Honda Civic since many years now and been in love with the ride, comfort, quality, maintenance and after sales service. I've owned a Chevrolet earlier and owning it was a pain!

Any owners of the above cars (except Jeep of course) can shed light on what has been their experience owning these cars in terms of drive, maintenance costs, etc?

kkn13

Suspended
Re: Octavia vs Corolla Altis vs Jeep Compass

1. After sales of Skoda wont be as good as Honda or Toyota, maintenance costs and reliability too. Jeep/FCA service network is very limited and I still wouldnt put all my eggs in their basket because until last year, they didnt have a dealership in Mumbai :O

2. Long term wise, once again Toyota is far reliable, cheaper to maintain and resale value will always be much higher than the others

Keep in mind, if you are going for automatic, Toyota has a CVT box meaning FE, reliability etc is better for the long run whereas Skoda and Jeep have dual clutch/DSG/DCT which dont agree with bumper to bumper traffic and have a higher maintenance cost and high part failure rate for our roads

If you had Chevrolet earlier and had bad experience, its gonna be the same case with Skoda and Jeep imho. Very solid cars for the price but suddenly youll get problems,lack of parts locally and no good resale value

Id say go for Altis or any other Japanese for your requirements