Buying a New Car Under Rs.10 Lakh (Ex.Showroom)

Dear Sirs,

I am reading this forum for last 3 months and find you advice people very neutral and very good. Looking for all your advise to choose the right car and book by next week.

I am 45 + executive and need to buy a sedan car ASAP. I stay in Bangalore for last few yeas. The car ex-showroom cost must be within 10 Lac. (including discount). The main use will be :
1: City Drive - 20 KM (Home to Office and back) - 80%
2. Hill - Ghat area drive : twice in year : 1500 KM max. - 20%

I donot know petrol or diesel car to take or not. Anything is good for me.

My objective:

A car with :

1: Less yearly service cost
2: Very safe car with good build quality.
3: Easy to drive in City.
4: Good fuel mileage

Verna/ City not considered at all at family donot like them.

Took TD for the following:

1> Tjet 125S :

Pros: Very safe, very good breaks, very good pickup.

Cons: Not easy to drive in City, As per the review it will cost me too much for fuel bill, Bit costly to maintain, leg space very less.

2> Skoda Rapid Ambition 1.6 MPI

Cons: Very good to drive, very comfortable in back seat, Nice look,
Pro: Seems bit slow pickup but not sure.

3> Skoda Rapid Ambition 1.5 TDI

Pros: Very good pickup, Loved to drive in city & highway
Cons: Vibration noticed, Notice noise ever what the ac on and all windows closed.

4> Volkswagen Vento Comfortline 1.2 Petrol AT

Pros: Automatic....I liked it as I will grow old I might need it in city drive. All others same as Rapid.

Cons: Seems highest in maintain cost among all the four option. ATF cost very high. DSG gear box not dependable????

* I need to keep the car (my only car) till the time possible.

Every car that you mentioned will have expensive spare parts but i think linea should have lowest part's price.
Your running justifies a petrol and none of the car mentioned above will give you more than 10-11 kmpl in summers.
Every car has top notch build quality.
I had test driven a punto diesel and a polo petrol and both cars had long clutch travel which i wasn't comfortable with( assuming the clutch travle to be same in both the sedans) So make sure you do a long-ish test drive in traffic to
check if you feel the same or not.
Also these cars don't have good resale (i myself don't care much about this ) just wanted to share.

Since you have rejected verna and city , it's safe to assume you won't like the ciaz as well.

From above list my preference would be the tjet or the rapid and then the vento.
Goes against your preference but still wanted to share.
Google 2017 hyundai verna which is coming this august. Only if you can wait.
How about scross ? It's a solid built car with good driveability. Maintenance will be much lower plus easy to drive in the city. Not a sedan , only diesel engine option.

Re: Hello Auto Experts

Hello Sirs,

For 3 months I am watching this forum as I am planning to but a car.

I stay in Bangalore and 45+ executive.

In search of a new car.
I think before anybody here can give you a fair advice, you need to:
  1. What is your approximate budget.
  2. Tell us about the purpose for the car
  3. Any other important preference you would like to share

I am asking this because you might be looking to buy a Mercedes when I would be advising you to go for an Alto. So you see...

Dear Sir,

Thanks a lot for all your advice and effort.

First the options I have written that based on the whole family choice and I would like to stick to the same. So no Cize, S cross ......Renault

After all TD my 1st choice is Vento 1.2 TSI but the story of 12-15 K yearly service cost, ATF oil cost and failure stories of DSG stopping me.

My second choice is Rapid 1.5 TDI. Driving was super in city and highroad. My colleague has the same and mentioned that the service cost also 8 K only.

Last option now Rapid 1.6 MT which I am ok..ok... or TJET 125S . But people telling me donot go for TJET as the very low mileage in City and high cost to maintain.

Can anybody on clear these confusions/doubts with real life experience.

Thanks in advance.

My second choice is Rapid 1.5 TDI. Driving was super in city and highroad. My colleague has the same and mentioned that the service cost also 8 K only.
Rapid so far to my knowledge has got least number of on-road failures compared to other SKODA cars. It has survived so far because of low rate of failures. You can opt for the maintenance package on the Rapid to be at peace.

TJET 125S . But people telling me donot go for TJET as the very low mileage in City and high cost to maintain.
Fiat makes good cars but the after-sales and ASC network is a matter of worry.

I think the vento 1.2 DSG and the linea tjet goes beyond 10 lakhs ex-showroom. So go for rapid petrol which will be a best bet for you. Skoda owners here can confirm on the service costs...

All the cars you mentioned, doesn't tick a box that is "Year Maintenance Cost".
SO if you are Ok with that parameter then go for Skoda or Fiat. If that's compulsory choose other brands.

If you are not stick to sedan segment then I would suggest to think about some bigger hatchback or compact SUV.

- MS Baleno Diesel [ASS is very good, easy to maintain, looks really premium - specially the Ray blue shade]
- Ford Eco Sports AT [Comes with all necessary safety features]

Sir

Thanks for your advice but my family doesn't like Maruti or ford either.

So either vento tsi or rapid diesel

Can anyone tell if the dsg issue still reported?

Sir

Thanks for your advice but my family doesn't like Maruti or ford either.

So either vento tsi or rapid diesel

Can anyone tell if the dsg issue still reported?
I have booked Rapid Diesel DSG after quite research and disturbing experts (aka, TSIVipul bro, RavenAvi ji and Akash1886 ji)

DSG issues seems to be sorted now as I haven't seen any threads of it being updated for a year now.

Why not check Rapid Petrol AT (its TC and not DSG), its good too.

Dear Akashji,

Thanks , I will read the same.

Dear GautamJ Sir,

Cograts on your new Rapid. How much it cost? And any discount you got?
I got the feed backback on Rapid Petrol as:

a) Very low FE. In AT version FE is too too low.
b) With full load underpowered engine
c) AT version no match to Vento 1.2 AT

I donot know id all these above all correct? I didnot find any review /Youtube video on Rapid petrol version.
=================================================

My 1st choice : Vento 1.2 TSI.

As you mentioned I also could not find any recent review on DSG. Also people saying Vento AT too
costly too maintain.

My 2nd choice is Rapid Diesel Ambition MT (as AT out of my reach).
In TD it seems too much engine noise in the cabin. Can you pl. correct me?

Dear GautamJ Sir,

Cograts on your new Rapid. How much it cost? And any discount you got?
I got the feed backback on Rapid Petrol as:

a) Very low FE. In AT version FE is too too low.
b) With full load underpowered engine
c) AT version no match to Vento 1.2 AT
Thank you Sirji.

I did not waited for GST, Skoda gave us 75K discount. If you are fine without the three new features which is exclusive for LE variants then 40K more discount is possible.

As far as Rapid petrol goes :-
a) Indeed, during my TD it showed 3.9 kmpl.
b) Not aware of it, but mostly it should not.
c) Did not TD Vento so can't comment. Also here in Mumbai Vento is approx 200K more than Rapid.

P.S. You can call me by my name.

So kind of you, Mr. Gautam.

My mind/logic finally moving towards : Rapid 1.5 MT.

In my TD seems engine noise is very high in the cabin. Is that true?
The GC also low : 163 MM. Will be this an issue?

Good Day.

Re: Hello Auto Experts

Sir,

so kind you are.

Mercedes.....not even I can dream ....[cry][surprise][lol]

What is your approximate budget.
Tell us about the purpose for the car
Any other important preference you would like to share
I am 45 + executive and need to buy a sedan car ASAP. I stay in Bangalore for last few yeas. The car ex-showroom cost must be within 10 Lac. (including discount). The main use will be :
1: City Drive - 20 KM (Home to Office and back) - 80%
2. Hill - Ghat area drive : twice in year : 1500 KM max. - 20%

Petrol or diesel anything is good for me.

My objective:

A car with :

1: Less yearly service cost
2: Very safe car with good build quality.
3: Easy to drive in City and Ghat areas.
4: Good fuel mileage

Verna/ City /Maruti etc......not considered as we all in the family donot like them.

Took TD for the following:

1> Tjet 125S :

Pros: Very safe, very good breaks, very good pickup.

Cons: Not easy to drive in City, As per the review it will cost me too much for fuel bill, Bit costly to maintain, leg space very less.

2> Skoda Rapid Ambition 1.6 MPI

Cons: Very good to drive, very comfortable in back seat, Nice look,
Pro: Seems bit slow pickup but not sure.

3> Skoda Rapid Ambition 1.5 TDI

Pros: Very good pickup, Loved to drive in city & highway
Cons: Vibration noticed, Notice noise ever what the ac on and all windows closed.

4> Volkswagen Vento Comfortline 1.2 Petrol AT

Pros: Automatic....I liked it as I will grow old I might need it in city drive. All others same as Rapid.

Cons: Seems highest in maintain cost among all the four option. ATF cost very high. DSG gear box not dependable????

* I need to keep the car (my only car) till the time possible.

My 1st option was : Vento 1.2 TSI Comformline
=================================

Due to scare stories of Vento service cost, DSG failure rates Vento 1.2 TSI is out of my list now.
============================================================

Now only two remain:

1> From looks wise(to me and my family), easy driving (to me), service cost wise (As per Skoda portal and from my colleagues experience- 7K-9K per year), Service center (very near to me - 3KM only) 1st choice : Rapid 1.5 MT.

2> For very strong breaks, nice pickup 2nd optice: TJET 125S but not as easy to drive as Rapid ..IMO. Car stopped 3 times in low speed in very slow speed city drive. :(

Yearly Service/Maintain cost seems same for both Rapid and TJET.