Need a New Commuter Car For College

Thread Starter #1
Hi guys! Im a med student and i need a car for college and gym.

> Your Budget: Rs.6 – 8 Lakh

> New or Used: New car. Used cars, I've found, aren't that much cheaper in my city. 5 yo swift? 4.5L. Might as well pay 2 more lakhs and get a new car.

> Your Location:maharashtra

> Top Five Priorities:Safety, Interior quality, Performance, Handling, Impressive exterior.

> Monthly Running: less than 1000

> Type of Fuel: no preference

> For What Purpose: 80% city. 20% highway

> Type of Segment: hatchback

> Passengers : 90% of the time I'll be the only person in the car. So rear seat comfort or luggage space aren't important.

Options i've been considering are swift, grande i10 and brio.

Earlier I had decided to buy a Brio Vxi for that sweet engine and abs. But then my friends said it looked feminine! Even my parents say the same, so im disinclined towards it now. Plus it clealry isnt vfm.

Grand i10 sportz(o). Took a test drive. Very impressed with quality of interior. Plus android auto and carplay!!!! Facelift released just 1 month back. Talk about vfm. However I hate the steering. Did they make the steering shaft from a wet noodle? Literally no feedback. Also abs is missing. Parents gravitating towards i10

Swift Vxi(o). excellent performance and handling. Entertainment system no match for i10. Also, i prefer i10 exterior over swift. New facelift is eminent. I don't want a outdated car in just 1 year!!!. Conflicting reports about release date. Some say sep 2017, others say spring 2018. Can anyone tell me if they have any information about this?

So, what are your thoughts? Are there any other cars I should consider? Im extremely confused. Wish that swift wasn't getting a facelift.

Now I'm thinking about getting the i10 and be done with it. But ALL of my friends and brothers say that Swift is better.

P.S. How much should the monthly running be to make the diesel worth it? My monthly running wont be over 900.