Used Honda City vs Used Honda Civic

Hello everyone! [:)]
I am looking to buy a used car and in dire need of help and advice from you guys. My usage of car would be minimal, usually on weekends for long drive with family or friends. I am strictly only considering used Honda City or Used Honda Civic. Please help me to decide since my budget is only 4 Lakhs.
Which car will be a better option? I will be using the car for at least 5 years.
I saw a Civic S MT (2009) for 3.50L which has run 74,000 and was Certified by Cartrade. Please find the link to the same car below.
https://www.cartrade.com/buy-used-cars/pune/honda/civic/2643935.html

And City (2009) S MT for 3.50L which has run 67,000 which was NOT Certified. link to the car is below
https://www.cardekho.com/used-car-details/used-Honda-City-2008-2011-1.5-S-MT-cars-Pune_1613518.htm

But again there are other City's (2008-2011) which are priced above 4lakhs. question is will it be sensible to increase my budget a little more and get one of those Honda city's (2008-2011) or just go for civic for 3.50L.
I know both car models have been discontinued and I have heard that Civic spares are not available easily and that its maintenance is expensive. I can handle maintenance up to 10k a year.
Should I just go for Civic? will the car last another 5 years without major issues? Please Advice.

Yes Honda spare of those models are easily not available in open market. But the requirement of those spares depends on condition of vehicle.
Civic seems to be a good deal for price but some honda cars need an engine overhaul at 1L kms with is expensive. Be careful when you buy a used car, especially hiding issues and accidents. I recommend you to watch these videos even before you call seller.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vC8LbvYk6es

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9N4RpohW-hU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDv5bUR_Plo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSi8xuRm5eE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=drbhNLvYxGQ

Both of them sound good, Please visit the dealer check in person. Go with your intuition which you like. Negotiate hard . Check the service history. Once you finalise one, Please take it to a trusted company dealer , get it inspected for a nominal price.

Yes Honda spare of those models are easily not available in open market. But the requirement of those spares depends on condition of vehicle.
Civic seems to be a good deal for price but some honda cars need an engine overhaul at 1L kms with is expensive. Be careful when you buy a used car, especially hiding issues and accidents. I recommend you to watch these videos even before you call seller.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vC8LbvYk6es

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9N4RpohW-hU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDv5bUR_Plo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSi8xuRm5eE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=drbhNLvYxGQ
Not really, I own the said car and have owned the models before it along with many other Hondas
Parts are no problems whatsoever
Reliability is top notch and engine overhaul etc is NOT needed for 1L km.......... its much further than that
Suspension and tyres are the only things that will need to be changed/repaired etc for sure but at nominal costs

Both of them sound good, Please visit the dealer check in person. Go with your intuition which you like. Negotiate hard . Check the service history. Once you finalise one, Please take it to a trusted company dealer , get it inspected for a nominal price.
Agreed
I wouldnt trust CarTrade certification
Rather get both certified by Honda itself for small fee
Check suspension for sounds etc
check Clutch and brakes

Negotiate hard on the Honda City especially
Its an S Base variant so price is slightly higher but depends on car condition
You might need new tyres, maybe add alloys too (I suggest an upsize from 175 to 185 or even 195)

Civic isnt bad but spares might be an issue here as it was discontinued quite a while back and 1.8 IVTEC is no longer in Indian Hondas whereas City still uses 1.5 IVTEC even now, barely any changes. Civic ground clearance might be an issue too

In fact the 3rd gen City is easily better than 4th gen in terms of interior quality etc

The mentioned Honda civic dealer claimed it ran only 76000km but when I called up the honda service center it turned out to have 2,50,000 when last serviced. Surprising how they tamper with Odo !!!

Yeah thats why I had suggested not to trust "certified cars" [;)]
Service centre is best to verify stuff

Yeah thats why I had suggested not to trust "certified cars" [;)]
Service centre is best to verify stuff
yea thanks man. Process that I am following right now is
1st take a test drive
2nd get things verified at Honda service center.
3rd RC-Police verification
4th Get it checked by mechanic
5th Try to get the vehicle for 100 km drive.(Optional)
Hope that should be enough before buying a used car?
please point out if I am missing out on anything.
Please guide me on paper work. how and what needs to be done.

yea thanks man. Process that I am following right now is
1st take a test drive
2nd get things verified at Honda service center.
3rd RC-Police verification
4th Get it checked by mechanic
5th Try to get the vehicle for 100 km drive.(Optional)
Hope that should be enough before buying a used car?
please point out if I am missing out on anything.
Please guide me on paper work. how and what needs to be done.
seems good enough
In fact a bit more with the 100km part but well and good if that is possible
Take a video if you like of the car start up, noises etc while driving, I can verify and tell you if anything is amiss

If AC is off and engine is on, its totally silent after initial warm up btw
Suspension slight thud noise in pot holes is normal

yea man. Ill take a video and post it tomorrow. will be really helpful since I am new to cars and trying everything all by myself.
I am planning to reserve 50k and spend it only on this vehicle if it comes up with any problems/repairs after taking the possession of the car. Will that be a sufficient amount to reserve for Used Civic?

Buddy,

For the budget you have, you'll get a good example of a CITY. A 2012-13 Model. Civic is discontinued so the spares might take time to arrive at dealers. CITY still is in market so finding the spares and maintaining it would be much better and easy than a CIVIC.

yea man. Ill take a video and post it tomorrow. will be really helpful since I am new to cars and trying everything all by myself.
I am planning to reserve 50k and spend it only on this vehicle if it comes up with any problems/repairs after taking the possession of the car. Will that be a sufficient amount to reserve for Used Civic?
Buddy,

For the budget you have, you'll get a good example of a CITY. A 2012-13 Model. Civic is discontinued so the spares might take time to arrive at dealers. CITY still is in market so finding the spares and maintaining it would be much better and easy than a CIVIC.

Agreed ANHC ie 3rd gen city IVTEC is best to buy
Very reliable etc
Tyres and suspension are the only expenses you might face imho

Guyz I have found a great civic of 2009 model. cross checked it with honda service centre and odo is genuine (67,000 Km). Vehicle is well maintained and took a test drive and now wil take a mechanic for inspection. I have already checked RC, its single owner.
Please let me know what paperwork is involved and what things I should be alert about. do i have to pay the amount and bring the vehicle home? any documents i need to ask the dealer for? I have no idea. please help.

Guyz I have found a great civic of 2009 model. cross checked it with honda service centre and odo is genuine (67,000 Km). Vehicle is well maintained and took a test drive and now wil take a mechanic for inspection. I have already checked RC, its single owner.
Please let me know what paperwork is involved and what things I should be alert about. do i have to pay the amount and bring the vehicle home? any documents i need to ask the dealer for? I have no idea. please help.
Do have a look on this thread buddy; http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...used-car-inspection-check-list.html#post17437

Have you checked suspension noises etc? (Common issue with Hondas after sometime)
See while turning the car fully at U turns etc
See Service History for any major part changes etc

PS- whats the quote?
Shouldnt be more than 4.5L for an immaculate car
Bargain as much as possible