Which Second Car: New or Used?

Thread Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

This is my second post. So, I am a full time student. My family owns a Swift Dzire( which I drive). I am thinking of buying a second car as well. We want a convenient hatchback, mostly for city use. This is because my mother is reluctant to drive our present car. So, I think an automatic would be good as it will give my mother confidence to drive too.

I am confused on which car to buy. After going through the different threads here, I am considering buying the nano xta. I would like to spend as little as possible. But I wouldn't mind spending some more to get a more VFM vehicle.

I generally don't like going for pre owned cars. I prefer to get a new car. But I am not totally against pre owned vehicles.

I would also be using the new car for short runs.What cars do you suggest for me to consider and whether I should go for a pre owned one?

Re: Which second car, new or used?

I would also be using the new car for short runs.What cars do you suggest for me to consider and whether I should go for a pre owned one?
Hello Deva

In the used car market, you will mainly find i10 and A-Star as automatic hatchbacks. Unless you get an excellent condition car, with less than 30k kms or so, then it makes some sense. Avoid highly used automatic cars.

In case of new cars, you can consider Nano and Alto K10. Nano would be more budget friendly, but overall I feel Alto K10 to be more value for money. Take a test drive of Alto K10 AMT, it has a very good engine (more than capable to potter around town) and coupled with compact dimensions and auto transmission, it would be one heck of an effortless drive. But I won't say that Nano is a bad choice. If you can post on-road price difference between the two, then I think we will be able to suggest better. If the difference is less than 1 Lac, I will go with the Alto K10.

Do keep us updated on the developments.

Regards,
Alpha

Last edited:
Thread Starter #4