Need a Car For Daily Commute. First Time Buyer

Thread Starter #1
Hi All,
I am learning driving & looking to buy the first car for me & my family (Mum, Bro, Bhabhi). I don't have any first-hand knowledge about cars even I wasn't interested in cars until June, 2016 when I felt the need for it during my long commuting to office. I work in the banking industry where transfers, rural postings are common. I am currently posted at a rural place about 35-40 kms from home. If things go normal, I will stay posted there for the next 3 years. Though the main reason I am opting to buy a car is for commuting, this will also be our first family car & so it will have a special place. We may take it for weekend rides to places where we couldn't just for the reason of not having a car. I live in Varanasi which is a small city compared to Lucknow, Patna, Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, etc. The roads here are heavily congested & I live in one of the most densely populated areas of the country. However, being a small town, the congestion is only short lived such that its radius is about 10-15 kms from my home. Coming to the commuting part, my current posting is about 40 kms from home hence, I would travel a distance of ~80 kms daily. The road is a mix of smooth, potholes.
> Your Budget: I have 3 lacs cash with me. I want to take the minimum from family savings.

> New or Used: New. Although Used ones prices are tempting but don't have any knowledge in this area hence dropped.

> Your Location: Varanasi, UP

> Top Five Priorities: Low maintenance, Comfort, Fuel efficient

> Monthly Running: 2000 kms

> Type of Fuel:
Don't know

> For What Purpose: Regular & off-roading

> Seating Capacity: 5 Seater is ok.

> Type of Segment: Hatchback. MUV if budget allows [roll]

Thanks

Re: Need a car for daily commute --first time buyer