Join Me in My Quest For a New Car

Thread Starter #1
Hi !I am new to this forum and proud to be part of this automotive community. I would like to thanks mods for approval of my membership.

I seek your valuable suggestions and advice for my quest of a new car.

Important points to note:

Car for my father

Passenger: mostly 2 and sometimes 5.

Duration of ownership:long term

Fuel : petrol

Budget :anything below 7 lakhs

Priority:Safety,reliability,handling,economy,comfort.

Main priority is a safe ,comfortable commuter with good handling with reasonable economy.

Main contenders:Baleno,vw polo 1.2,Ignis,KITE 5.

I am no expert on cars nor have any experience regarding them ,little bit of knowledge is through information online.Please help me with your valuable advice to reach a definitive end in my quest of a new car.

Contenders:

Baleno
+space
+engine
+handling
+maruti service

-Build quality
-indian version safety is questionable .
- suspension,ride quality

My biggest concern over baleno :Safety ,It seems to get dented very easily ;many owners have complained about how it is prone to denting under even a minor force.Suspension is not upto the mark for a premium hatchback.

Polo 1.2
+ Brand value
+ handling
+built quality
+ride quality
+Safety-safest hatchback in india under 8 lakh.

-space
-horror stories about service experience,higher maintenance cost.
-engine,nvh

My biggest concern is maintenance cost and service experience, Reasonable higher maintenance cost is not a concern because quality comes at a price but would not want to pay double the cost compared to other cars.Can someone clear the doubts over polo maintenance cost compared to a swift ,baleno or zest.Even though engine is not great but has got decent power and good driveability which would be more than enough for our requirement. Biggest attraction of polo is SAFETY and I think it would age well in comparison to other cars ,as we plan to keep the car for at least seven years it is a big plus.