Considering Renault Duster (Petrol). Budget Rs.10 Lakh

Thread Starter #1
Hello All,

My first post here - looking for some advice and a soundboard. I would also appreciate if any current Petrol Duster owners can share their experience.

I've had my eye on Renault Duster for a while and I'm finally in a position to buy it for myself and family. Have taken roadtrips across our beautiful country in my dad's old Honda City Vtech which I currently drive. I have driven it from Delhi to the coast of Gujarat to Indo-China border up in the Himalayas and it has been an absolutely joy - great combination of smoothness and strength. Whilst road trips will now be limited to once or twice a year, ground clearance and good ride quality/handling is something I've been adamant about and therefore the Duster. It's drivable in the city and looks good too.

Creta is Korean and seems overpriced. I'm a female driver so Mahindra is simply not an option (solid cars but driving position/seating is extremely uncomfortable for women).

City: Delhi
Budget: 10 Lakhs (may stretch for great options)
Key Factors: Safety, Ground Clearance and should ride 5-10 years at least.
Monthly running: 850-950 Kms
Use: Regular; Delhi to Gurgaon office routine; 1-2 yearly roadtrips

Current Options:
1. Petrol RXE (8.5 Lakhs on road/after discount) - can live without rear power windows; will install aftermarket stereo and maybe PU seats.
2. Petrol RXL (9.85 Lakhs on road/after discount) - stereo and only driver airbag. They aren't offering passenger airbag as, you know, passenger/loved one's life is simply not worthy (sarcasm over). This was a big turn off.

Both petrol have ABS and I am not willing to pay 1.5 lakhs extra for a single airbag and stereo - and therefore looking at RXE Petrol. My colour (black) will take a month's delivery time.