Car For New Driver Under Rs.5 Lakh

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thread Starter #1
I'm a newbie driver, looking for a car with a budget of 4-5 lakhs. My daily driving would be around 15 km on Chennai's outskirts. There may be an occasional highway drive once every few months. Family of 4, kids below 10.

I prefer to have an automatic. Petrol is fine, since the usage is to be less. So, my choice was Alto K10. May be Celerio, if I can stretch my budget a bit further. If I include pre-owned cars, the choice becomes wider and I can choose from City, Verna, Santro Xing, i10/i20, Ritz etc.

Let me know which option is better. If it is pre-owned, what are the best places in Chennai/online to get good cars? (have read stories of how people get cheated)

Thread Starter #3
krishnavamshi24: Thank you. I read about the Kwid and saw their ads of bookings being open. But I wasn't sure if they would have an AMT during launch. Other apprehensions - 800cc engine over a body that looks large, Renault's service network. Will enquire with their dealers.

Akash1886

Honoured Member
I'm a newbie driver, looking for a car with a budget of 4-5 lakhs. My daily driving would be around 15 km on Chennai's outskirts. There may be an occasional highway drive once every few months. Family of 4, kids below 10.
Since you are a new driver, would suggest you to go for a manual car and gradually once you develop the reflexes you may graduate to an Auto-Box.

I prefer to have an automatic. Petrol is fine, since the usage is to be less. So, my choice was Alto K10. May be Celerio, if I can stretch my budget a bit further. If I include pre-owned cars, the choice becomes wider and I can choose from City, Verna, Santro Xing, i10/i20, Ritz etc.
In these options I would opt for pre-owned, CITY and Verna would be good and spacious and in hatchback you'll evidently compromise on the space.