Buying Driver's Car / Fun To Drive Car For Rs.3L

Thread Starter #1
Hi Petrolheads,

I am looking forward to buy used "driver oriented fun to drive car" within a budget of 3L (max).

It all started when due to pure coincidence, I test drove a very well maintained Palio 1.6 GTX. Oh boy !!! ....It was very unlike any car I had driven. I was blown away with the mad acceleration & the way the car handled. I was left mesmerized. I got excited by the thought that how an decade old, 1.2 lac (something) rupee car can put wide grin on your face every time you drive her. [clap]
Time passed by but this thought remained in my mind. Now I am at a juncture, where I had made up my mind (& did my calculations) that I will got for pure fun to drive pre-owned petrol car.

Now, I need views from all you guys to select the right car for me; as I am new to this territory. My criteria's are as follows,

1. I am looking for a Petrol Car.
2. The car has to be the driver's delight. No shortage of power, very good ride & handling. It should put grin on the face every time I get behind the wheel.
3. I am not fussy about fuel economy anything between 8-12 is OK for me.
4. My budget is 3L max. This includes the initial expenses that I may have to do immediately after buying the car.
5. I plan to keep the car for three years. No more no less.
6. Apart from 3L initial budget, I have expected & budgeted Rs. 30K per year towards maintenance. I expect maintenance costs in this range.
7. Should be reasonably reliable. I don't expect car to be bullet proof in reliability but at same time I don't want to see a mechanic every month; once in a 4-5 months is fine.
8. I am not fussy on resale value as well, if I am paying 3L now & I could get 1L -1.25L post three years then also I am fine.