Used Hatchback Within Rs.2.5L. Which Car?

Thread Starter #1
Hi All,

I am planning to buy a used car within a budget of 2.5L.

Reasons for searching used car.
1.) I am a newbie driver.
2.) Cannot spend EMIs at-least for next one year.
3.) But need car little urgent due to personal reasons.
4.) Probably will exchange it with a new car in a year.

My requirements for used car:
1.) Budget of 2.5L
2.) Only hatchback.
3.) Need a car which is currently in production.
4.) Not interested in Alto (incl K10), Nano.
5.) Manufacturing year not less than 2008.
6.) I should be the second owner.
7.) Need features like body colored bumpers, A/C, Power windows, Power steering.

Considering the above what car should i search for? Can someone please post it with reasons.

Re: Used car (hatchback) within 2.5L. Which car?

2008+ / HB / 2.5L

Anything apart from Alto family I could think of the below cars (all petrol)
Figo
- I don't have much experience to comment about petrol Figos
Punto
+ Easy to get
+ Solid build
+ Good ride & handling
- Less FE
- Blind spots
i10
+ Well established A.S.S
+ Better FE (comparatively)
- R&H is not upto the mark (personal opinion/experience)

Other cars that could get are Micra, Spark, Beat.

Re: Used car (hatchback) within 2.5L. Which car?

In that price range you could get WagonR, i10, chevy spark apart from alto and nano that you denied in your requirements.

Few cars in used vehicle market you will find more,

MS Swift
MS Wagon R
Hyundai i10
Tata Indica

Swift would be better choice to have if you are looking for changing in a year or so, coz it will give you VFM and better resale value.

If you are looking for long term use then Wagon R/i10 would be my recommendation.

Beat, Spark, Figo, Punto, i20, Ritz, Micra, Pulse can be considered for your short listing but, you may not find ample choice in market. These car wont give you resale value as these are cars not very popular in used car market.