Need To Buy a Used Sedan For Rs.2 - 3 Lakh

Hi, Petrol heads

My name is Stevan and i am from mumbai

I am currently using a Santro Xing XG 2004 odo 60k and im the 4th Owner of this car.

When i purchased this car i was experienced about buying the car and my budget was just 1 lakh because thats what a hard to earn student "Me" could manage to save
This Car is in a Pretty Good condition very less leg room everywhere Engine is powerfull except for the car chessie which is rusted at places which i had to get welded and patched, so i need a change in car desperately.

i have used my fathers brand new car Maruti suzuki Swift VXI 2005 so im used to a powerful driving but had to sell it due to financial crysis

I have Considered to buy a USED SEDAN car Because a boot is really required for me.

My Requirnments Are:-

A maintenance free car as im a student
powerful engine
Reasonable Spare parts
Car in great condition
Good Legroom

My Budget is between 2 Lakhs - 3 Lakhs

I might also consider to install CNG in the Car as my daily running is 50km+
I have been looking at Honda City ZX
one i recently saw was a golden city ZX gxi, 78k odo single owner for 1.8 lakh
but did not have money that time so it was sold [frustration]

I also wanna sell my Santro Xing before buying another car
Please Advice me what should be done [confused]

Re: Need to buy a USED CAR

Thanks for the reply sam [:)]
but i will new more help form this forum as i have mention a lot more in my post

Re: Need to buy a USED CAR

@ stvn_dsza: Welcome to TAI bro.

Even i am from mumbai.

Well seeing your budget and your requirements the Honda City ZX is the best option. The 2006-2007 models which have clocked a decent kilometres should be easily available within that range of yours. Recently one of my frend had seen a 2006 Honda City ZX CVT for around 3 lacs. The Honda City will also be a good option when you plan on converting to CNG. There are other cars also available in this range but i would suggest to you just stick on to Honda City ZX.

As of for your Santro Xing 2004 the car price varies from 75-1.25 lacs depending on the model and condition but the biggest problem with yours is the Number of Owners, the person buying you car will be the fifth owner so i would say that it will affect your resale price a lot.

Anyways do let me know if you require any more detail regarding cars and CNG.

the second generation Honda city would be the wise choice. also you can get maruthi baleno provided you don't worry about the car being discontinued.

can someone also tell me what is the difference between:
Honda City ZX (GXI) 2006 & Honda City ZX (GXI) 10th Anniversary Edition

@ stvn_dsza :

The Difference is majorly cosmetic and the same in specifications.

The following was added/modified in the 10th Anniversary Edition

- The Speedometer was now white rather than the earlier black/grey
- New design Steering Wheel
- Side step Garnish
- Fog Lamps

so i think honda city zx gxi 2007 should be fine for me ?
and how much km driven car should i buy ?
plz suggest [confused]

Well Toyota & Honda have the reputation for reliability so i dont think the kilometers will matter that much on the life of the engine but yes you do need to use the high kilometers if any on the point of negotiation. If you are going to look for the 10th Anniversary Edition then it might cross your budget marginally.
If you want the numbers then any car run upto 60-70k kms shud be fine considering that it will be a 7 year old car.

We at this budget you may get a good condition
- Tata Indigo eCS/CS [Diesel],
- Mahindra-Renault Logan [Petrol/Diesel]
- Maruti Swift Dzire [old] [Petrol]
- Ford Fiesta [Petrol]
- Ford Ikon TDCI [Diesel]

the only thing is you need to search through the market.

City ZX is definitely a good choice. You can refer my ownership review HERE

Other choices in this budget will be
1) Fiesta 1.6 (if FE is not an issue)
2) SX4
3) Ikon 1.4
4) Linea 1.3 (don't be surprised, couple of weeks I sold my Linea, it should fit within your budget)

Ikon came in 1.3 and 1.6, while the latter was gem of a car to drive, I would advise to stay off Ikon as spares are very costly.

City ZX is definitely a good choice. You can refer my ownership review HERE
@Mr.Boss Honda City ZX V-TECH is Automatic Car right ?

And i am not able to find any City ZX VTECH in the market everyone shows me some Honda City CVT

I would like to know the specs n Diffrences between the both

@Mr.Boss Honda City ZX V-TECH is Automatic Car right ?

And i am not able to find any City ZX VTECH in the market everyone shows me some Honda City CVT

I would like to know the specs n Diffrences between the both

vtec is MT (If I'm not wrong City ZX Vtec never came with CVT)

What ever people shown you (ZX CVT) is with iDSI engine.
Both are 1.5L NA Gasoline engines, but vtec comes with a better power output.