Need Advice: What Hatchback To Buy For New Driver?

Thread Starter #1
Hi Friends,
I am an amateur when it comes to vehicles. I am a newbie driver and my driving skills are only at midway. Now I have decided to buy my first car in a months time.

Since my monthly usage is going to be around 200 - 300 kms I believe a petrol car will be a better choice. My budget is up to 7 lakhs on road price. I am looking for a Value for money car that's not going to burn a hole in my pocket when it comes to maintenance. For long time I cherished the dream of owning a Punto MJD and still would love to even though it makes no sense to me when I think why. Punto was dropped owing to strong apprehensions from wifey and other family members after a relative who owns the same recited its very expensive to maintain add to that the poor image FIAT earned over the past years.

The second best option I thought was Swift but we now have a new Swift VDI in the family and once my driving skills improve I can anytime drive it.

After pondering over the issue i thought why not Grand i10 PETROL ? I ve seen the car and liked it. While checking various online forums there was mixed reactions to the car from the indifferent attitude of SA to battery drain issues. ?

Now I m under real confusion. What car to go for. ? I wish to have a car with above average interiors , a feel good driving experience. FE and resale value is not much of a concern as my running kms are going to be low. Not so expensive maintenance.

Please suggest me a car. Open to any car from Alto to Polo .

(Please Note : This is my first post in any forum and it may not have a seasoned touch or finish, similarly all my knowledge on cars are either hearsay or what i ve read in some forums. )

Regards & Wishes,

JR.

bhvm

Honoured Member
Re: Need advice - What Hatchback to buy ?