Best Car Within Rs.10 Lakh

Thread Starter #1
Hi All,

I am new to this forum. Mods please change the relevant section of this post, if you feel this is not the correct section to discuss this topic.

I have been driving Santro Xing for 7 years and 67000+ kms. It has been a true companion and has always been on my side in the harshest road conditions. the only major modification done on my side over the factory unit is addition of tubeless tires and nitrogen gas filling. This has made the car smooth and fuel efficient also. There has been no major part replacement till now [clap]. But lately my Xingy (thats what I call it) has started showing age. While driving I can feel it has started aging a bit. And in coming months, I think some parts may need upgradation/replacement. I do have an option of getting the issues rectified, but as we all know Hyundai servicing through authorized channels is quite expensive, and somehow I am not willing to cough up so much for an ageing vehicle. Also, the fact that it is 7 years old (old era technology), I feel I should upgrade to something which is much more present day technology and refined.

So I have decided to move on, and look for something new. My max budget is 10 lakhs (on-road including every damn tax and charges). I have tried to make a list of what my essentials should be:
- good mileage
- as i love going on long drives, good highway manners, as well as peppy in city traffic(xingy scored a 100 in city traffic but 50 on highways, so looking for something of same stature in city but way better on highways)
- less ownership costs (so VW/Skoda etc ruled out - their horror stories and expensive parts scares me nowadays)
- good network of service centers
- good high seating position, as elders also sit in the car, and they have difficulty in ingress. Also biased by xingy's high seating position