If Not Ecosport Then What?

Hi guys,

I have been looking to buy a new car since nov,12 . But delayed the whole thing for the wait of ecosport.

I personally liked the car but family didn't like it much.. they were very much disappointed with the flat and small seats. Plus being from ford did not help.

Note: I am a big sized guy so would prefer a comfortable car accordingly.

A little background:

We have been using only petrol cars till now. Mostly Honda's and Maruti's.
Never owned a SUV in the family, always sedans and hatchback.
M looking for a long term stable, good in handling/performance car. Fuel efficiency is not very important although would be nice to have atleast 12-13 kmpl in city.

Budget wise I can go upto 13-14 lakhs.

-Good handling
-Performance on road
-Safety
-Reliable for long term use
- Looks & style
- diesel is ok but should not rattle or make too many sounds.

Let me know if anyone can help. would have bought honda city but we had one few years back which got into an accident and we bought a new city again. dont want to keep on buying the same car.[lol]

Right now I am looking at:

Vento
Ecosport
Verna( Handling is bad here i think)
Corolla
Duster
Terrano(if I knew when it will be launched for sure)

Any suggestions are welcome

Go for Toyota Innova that would be best suitable car for all your requirements. You will never regret for your purchase.

With that budget, why are you not looking at the Mahindra XUV5OO, Tata Safari Storme & Chevrolet Cruze?

According to your priorities:

XUV5OO:

-Good handling : Handling is good for an SUV
-Performance on road : 0-100 in 12 seconds, good by SUV standards
-Safety : 4* safety rating
-Reliable for long term use : Small niggles here and there are present
- Looks & style : personal choice
- diesel is ok but should not rattle or make too many sounds : no major rattling issues reported.

Storme:

-Good handling : Not as good as the XUV, but decent enough for an SUV
-Performance on road : Again good.
-Safety : No idea.
-Reliable for long term use : No idea.
- Looks & style : personal choice.
- diesel is ok but should not rattle or make too many sounds : most of the rattling noises have been solved.

Cruze:

-Good handling : Check!
-Performance on road : Check! 0-100 in 9 seconds!
-Safety : Check!
-Reliable for long term use : Check!
- Looks & style : Check! No doubts, its a looker.
- diesel is ok but should not rattle or make too many sounds. No rattling at all.

The Cruze maybe about a Lac above your budget, but its a perfect vehicle for your requirements.

Go for Toyota Innova that would be best suitable car for all your requirements. You will never regret for your purchase.
Since he requires performance, I would not really recommend the Innova. Its a sluggish car with just 102 bhp.

Oh boy do you mean that? Innova a sluggish car? It has all in one package that he asked for.

With that budget, why are you not looking at the Mahindra XUV5OO, Tata Safari Storme & Chevrolet Cruze?

According to your priorities:

XUV5OO:
Storme:
Cruze:
Since he requires performance, I would not really recommend the Innova. Its a sluggish car with just 102 bhp.
XUV/ Storme/ Innova all true SUV's but too big for my requirements, My daily commute is about 35 kms, with once in two months outing,somewhere in hills.

Cruze, GM not a well maintained brand name in India. I would prefer something from honda toyota volkswagen anyday over others.