Need Suggestions On Buying Used Ford Ikon Flair (2004)

Thread Starter #1
Hi Guys,

Ive been an avid user of maruti cars for the past 20 years. Owned 6 Zens over these years and now hold a Zen, an Eeco and a Nano.

I have never bought a 2nd hand car before and lack experience in that avenue.

Im planning to buy a used Ford Icon, Flair, 2004 Model, Petrol, Driven 46,000 Kms, 2nd owner.

I inspected the vehicle and the body seems decent and newish. Its still got the orginal factory paint. But for small parking scratches etc on the bumpers theres nothing i can see obviously wrong with the body.

I have no experience with Fords and want to ask all of you of if this is a reasonable buy at the final negotiated price of Rs.1.05 lac.

The vehicle seemed ok to drive. Smooth engine. One touch start. But i could only drive it at 10kmph inside an apartment because of heavy traffic on the outside being unsuitable for a test drive. The brake pedal was extremely hard. I mean it would'nt depress and had a wooden grip feel which makes it feel as if your driving without any brake drums/shoes. Theres no grip. It just slides and then slows down without a firm immediate response. The owner says its just a problem with the brake oil flow and he will get this fixed before delivery if im taking the car.

I also asked a local prominent brand service station if they will do a bumper to bumper check/opinion on the vehicle before i buy it and they agreed.

Now this vehicle will primarily be used by my wife who is a first time driver and has just learned to drive. We were on the lookout for a car within a lac for her since our other cars are all in brand new condition and have all done lesser than 3000kms but for my Zen.

What are your opinions on this scenario ? Your suggestions would help me a lot in my decision.

Thanks

Re: Need suggestions on buying 2nd hand Ford Icon Flair, 1.3, Flair, 2004 Model.