Should I Buy Maruti Wagon-R VXi 2004?

Thread Starter #1
Hello All,

This is my first post and I am planning to buy my first car .

I came across a June 2004 Wagon R silver grey, bangalore registration, 70,000 km run.
The owner is quoting 1.7 Lacs (which is high) but ready to negotiate

I am buying the car because I am fairly new to driving, want to run for 1-2 years before buying a new car. This can also be used as a second car.

1. He is the third owner (I will be 4th), he bought it from truevale 3.5 years ago

2. He says the condition is quite good, selling cos of buying a new car. He also seems very eager to sell as he needs to make a down payment for the new car.

3. comprehensive bumper to bumper insurance to be renewed in sep 2013

4. all standard accessories on the car, front two power windows, ac and standard music system. No additional accessories.

5. Taking a known driver to check out the car tomorrow

6. He says that tyres should be changed in another 5000 km

7. He is ready to service the car at a maruti showroom before selling it

8. Car serviced at standard maruti showrooms only but he does not have all the bills or service history

My questions

1. Should i buy this car and what should be the max price I pay?

2. Is old wagonr a good car, what are the drawbacks with this car and good points as well?

3. What all should be checked?

4. How much is the usual transfer charge in Bangalore

5. Any other advice/suggestions

Thanks a lot.
Regards.

Re: should I buy a 2004 WagonR VXI

The answer to your question is a BIG NO!
For that much money you will get a 2006-07 WagonR man, even a 2008 one if you are lucky. To top it a single owner car.

And if you still go ahead with this buy [frustration] then you should not pay anything more than 1 Lakh for this car. Remember you will have to keep this car for life or else it will go in junk, since you will be the 4th owner.[:D]

Think!

Hello All,