Mitsubishi Lancer or Cedia For Modifying?

Thread Starter #1
Okay I have been searching for an Indian automotive forum where i can discuss some of the technical aspects of cars from an engineer's POV and amongst all the Bike forums i have come across i couldnt find one single Car Forum where i could quench my thirst for details and tech gyaan and ofcourse share some of my own too. Finally i landed here today [:)]

But First i shall introduce myself. I am Nithesh, age 22(soon to be 23) and i hold a diploma in Automobile engineering and i've got one year to go before i graduate with a degree in Mechanical engineering(had to resort to it since Automotive engineers are rarely hired anymore).
So i am not a total Noob with the technical stuff about cars or bikes for that matter.

So here's my Dilemma. Dad wants to buy a car(for weekend rides mostly) and he was adament on buying a brand new I20 or the Fiat Punto(which i admire). But I have always, always been a Mitsu enthusiast ever since i came across Mitsu Evo IV/V/VI rallying in the WRC back in 98 or 99 when i was barely 8. So i have always dreamt of either owning or Building my own Evo if need be.

So i finally convinced dad into looking at the used car market since we barely go out on weekend and the car will barely clock serious miles unless i get my vacation which is roughly 2 months a year so maintenance is no issues and i can pretty much Do most of it myself.
I was pretty much looking at the 2004+ model Mitsu Lancer in the used market which i can in the span of say 5-7 years convert it into a full spec Evo VI inclusive of the AWD setup and i am well aware of the estimation of getting into such a project and the cost of it but what i'm basically saying is this car will serve as my project car 2 years from now when i get a job and have my own family car.