Confused Buying Ford Figo Titanium Diesel or Hyundai i20 Sportz Petrol

Thread Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

Am very much confused between buying a petrol or diesel car.

Presently am considering 2 cars

1) Hyundai I20 Sportz Petrol(Features are awesome)
2) New Ford Figo Titanium Diesel

As of now my Usage would be like at an average 500 to 700 KM/Months.

Could anyone give some suggestions which helps me in taking valuable decision.

Thanks in Advance.

Well, Vamsee, I am not an expert myself but can share my thoughts as I've been spending lot of time buying a hatch for myself.

The two cars you have narrowed down are apple and orange. I think 350Z has listed some good criteria to consider.
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/automotive-shopper/1298-looking-buy-car-must-read.html.

Going by your average run for the month, Petrol seems obvious choice but you may want to consider several other things. The initial ownership cost and the Operating cost (apart from fuel, regular service cost, spares) is generally higher for a diesel car (especially as it ages). In case of petrol, I can think of only the fuel cost and the resale value could be on the flip side. The fuel cost could be offset by the service cost; resale value is something I would not bother to consider before even buying!

Please research more on TAI. I have seen some very informative threads. Let us know what you chose please.

Cheers

Carefully calculate the monthly running and decide.

ask yourself is your driving is with in city or mostly long drives ?

Diesel initial investment is costly but the maintenance of figo diesel is not that costly
i am using it and bought on Jan 2011 and till date ODO reads 18500 (avg 800+ kms per month)

Even in the start i calculated the running would be around 500 or 700 per month but it exceeds

and every month am crossing 800 kms
my riding is like 10 to 35 kms every weekends and every two months once 1200 to 1300 kms long ride.