Basic Information on In-Car Entertainment (ICE)

Thread Starter #1
I have opened this thread so that we all can share some basic knowledge about car audio here. I am a newbie to this & i am looking forward to learn a lot from here. I am especially looking forward to inputs from Ramie & Ilango.

Some car audio components:

1) Single Din Head Unit:
single din.JPG

2) Double Din Head Unit:
double din.jpg

Well known brands are Pioneer, JVC, Clarion, Alpine, etc.

3) Component speakers: Component speakers are of two types - 2 way & 3 way. 2 way speakers consists of midbass, tweeter & crossover.
component-speaker 1.jpg
3 way comp skrs.jpg

4) Co-axial speakers: They are also known as 6x9 speakers. They are available as 2 way, 3 way, 4 way & even 5 way! They dont produce quality sound like components as they have no seperate crossovers.
co ax 2.jpg

5) Subwoofer: They are for the thump in the music, referred to as bass. They are installed in boxes which can be sealed, ported or bandpass. Even basstubes are a type of subwoofer.

Well known brands are illusion, ground zero, hertz, kicker, polk, rainbow, JBL, etc.

bandpass subwoofer.jpg
basstube.jpg
ported subwoofer.JPG

6) Amplifier: Amp is needed to power the speakers & subwoofer. Amp is basically of A/B class, D class, etc. Types of amp used are 2 channel, 4 channel & mono amp (for subwoofer).
JBL amplifier.jpg

Well known brands are JBL, Powerbass, Blaupunkt, Alpine, etc.

7) Cabling/wiring: Cables are as important as good speakers. Cables are of different types - RCA, Power, Speaker, etc.
cable 2s.jpg
CableRed.jpg

Well known brands are Monster, Earthquake, Ground Zero, Scosche, etc.

8) Damping: Damping is widely discussed in this thread.

Thanks a ton Rajeev. I'm well accomplished about 1) and 2), but I knew next to nothing about the rest. I had no idea about speakers, except for a bare basic set. I'm going to read the whole thing in detail now. Again, a million Shukriyas!

raj , a newbie to audio , joking??