Basic Help Required For Long Life of Car

Thread Starter #1
Hi all Techies and Professionals[:D]

Im new to driving and did around 1000-1500kms and im not that aggressive as a driver. Rarely goes beyond 100kmph. However i have small (silly) doubts which are haunting me for some time now, hoping someone can help me clear these:

1. Does coasting on 2nd or 3rd gears on plain roads consumes more fuel? And it is opposite when coasting downwards i.e the car doesn't consume fuel at all or just consumes very negligible amount?
2. Can we keep our foot on the brake at signals (offcourse with disengaged clutch and gear in neutral) instead of hand brake? Will this have any adverse effects on brake wear in the long run?
3. Can we keep the car wheels in extreme right/left position during parking for long hours? Does it effect power steering?
4. Should we maintain the speed below 80kmph for the first 5000kms of drive and if so, why?
5. Which is the most FE mode of drive? Going quickly to top gear and maintaining there for a considerable time or upshifting/downshifting as per the recommended rpms?
6. Can we directly use 2nd gear instead of 1st when going down slope and with some momentum can the same be done on plain roads? Will it improve FE?
7. Should we change the oil at 5000kms itself for diesel cars instead of recommended 10000kms for longevity of engine? (First oil change)
8. Should idling rule be followed in all seasons? If so what is the recommended starting and stopping time? Also seen some where that idling for longer periods is also dangerous to engine as the engine will not be at its operating temperature causing some serious damage to other parts as well.[confused]. Either way is dangerous[surprise]!

Please help.

I'm not a professional but here are my few cents regarding your doubts.

1. The higher the gear you coast in, the lesser will be the fuel consumption.