There are a couple of folders in Private Messenger as default: “Inbox” and “Sent Items”. The inbox allows to view all the messages you have received along with the username of the member who sent it and the date and time it was sent. On the other hand, sent items folder contains a copy of any messages that you have sent. You can also create additional folders for your messages by clicking the 'Edit Folders' link.
Each folder has a set of message controls which allow you to select messages, then either move them to one of your custom folders, or delete them. Once you have selected your messages, you can choose the following options in the 'Selected Messages' box at the bottom of the list: Move to Folder, Delete, Mark as Read, Mark as Unread, Download as XML, Download as CSV, and Download as TEXT.
You will sometimes need to delete old messages, as different membership levels have a certain fixed storage limit for messages (Explanation of Membership Ranks and Promotions
). If the number exceeds, you will not be able to send or receive new messages until the space is emptied by deleting old messages. If you would like to keep a record of messages before deleting them, you can use any of the 'Download as...’ options listed above to create a copy and store them on computer.